Located in the heart of downtown, the Firehouse Museum explores the unique challenges of fighting fire in late 19th and early 20th century Ellicott City. The city’s topography and architecture—steep, sloping streets tightly lined with adjoined wooden buildings—provided prime conditions for the spread of fire while inhibiting the transport of water. In 1889 a group of volunteers constructed the firehouse at a cost of $500 dollars. Conveniently situated on a small, triangular lot, the original building was simply designed to house the hand-drawn—later horse-drawn—fire equipment. It operated until 1924, and served as municipal office and a meeting hall from 1906-1935.
Saturdays & Sundays from 1–4pm